Home > Politics
Parliament approves first batch of Ministers
From: Ghana/Myjoyonline.com/Jerry Tsatro Mordy          Published On: January 29, 2013, 14:42 GMT
  Comments ()     Email     Print  


Parliament approves first batch of Ministers

On Tuesday, Parliament approved the president’s the first seven ministerial nominees, who were vetted by the one-party Appointments Committee last week.

The new appointees include Seth Terkper, Minister of Finance; Hannah Tetteh, Minister of Foreign Affairs; Clement Kofi Humado, Minister of Food and Agriculture; and Alhaji Inusah Fuseini, Minister of Lands Natural Resources.

The rest are Alhaji Aminu Sulemana, Minister of Roads and Highways; Alhaji Collins Dauda, Minister of Works, Housing and Water Resources; and Mahama Ayariga, Minister of Information and Media Relations.

Joy News’s Elton John Brobbey reported that although members from the minority New Patriotic Party (NPP) were present on the floor of the House, they abstained from participating in any matters relating to the approval process.

He said that Deputy Minority Leader Dominic Nitiwul had indicated the minority would not play any role in matters concerning the appointment of persons to positions in President John Mahama’s administration pending the outcome of the Supreme Court ruling on the NPP’s petition challenging the election results.

The Appointments Committee is expected to vet four ministerial nominees this week, namely Akwasi Oppong-Fosu, Minister-designate of Local Government and Rural Development; Nana Oye Lithur, Minister-designate of Gender, Children and Social Protection; Prof Jane Nana Opoku Agyemang, Minister-designate of Education; and Dr Oteng Agyei, Minister-designate of Environment, Science Technology and Innovation.

Comments ( ): Have Your Say >>